The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Eye I Eye

This was a very short business trip. It was only one night away from home. But he apparently does not comprehend the duration of time. To him, to be apart is to be apart. It does not make a difference whether it is twenty minutes or twenty days. Either way it is insufferable, or so he indicates.

Upon my return home, no matter the duration of my absence, the ritual is the same: I get the happy dance in the driveway, the circles about the yard, the jump induced paw prints on my shirt. His howls fill the air and the wagging tail creates a brisk breeze. Then there is a moment of seated calm followed by this stare. It melts my heart, each and every time.

Bravo and his sister BB have this amazing way to connect and to make time stand still. They have this ability to transport their love and devotion so deeply into my heart. When they are with me, they are "with me"; there is nothing in this world that can come between us. It is love, as it should be defined.

I think there is much we can learn from our companion animals.

I am so distraught over the bloodshed and loss of innocent lives in Connecticut that I cannot even begin to compose my thoughts. No child should ever be lost, let alone this way. My heart weeps for them. It may be wasted energy but, I pray for an end to this mayhem.

And thank you for the warmth you gave me on my post of yesterday. I knew that I missed this place quite badly and, now, am convinced of that more than ever. I will hopefully have blip time this weekend to catch up a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.