Punakaiki (Pancake Rocks)

We decided to come home up the coast rather than the inland route today so we stopped at Punakaiki. It is a ridiculous number of years since I've stopped there - silly really when it's only an hour and a half away from home.

The blow holes were blowing for us which was great - but my photos weren't. So instead, rocks looking north from one of the viewing platforms.

I was rapt to see shags and terns and oystercatchers about. Will have to go back some day with a bit of time free and my big lens.

There are shags and a tern to be seen out on the rock - shag around a bit in large.

For anyone who wants to see a disappointing photo of the blowhole blowing - it is in my blipfolio here. It's a pity you can't hear the great booming sound it makes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.