ORNAMENT

The Mono Monday theme today is " Object".  So I looked around the house for an object which meant something to me. I chose this Siamese Cat.  Its made by Beswick.  It was a birthday gift from my work colleagues way back in the 70's. Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting.

Blipping this ornament today has brought back memories of my half Siamese cat Misty.  I bought her in 1976 -  I still lived at home with my Mam and Dad at the time.  One Saturday morning I went with my Mam to the pet shop in Gateshead.  Just looking and certainly not intending to buy a pet of any kind.  There were two half Siamese kittens ( sisters ) in the shop and I fell in love.  The kittens were special favourites of the shop owner and they were treated very well.  She took them home with her every evening.  I chose one of them and of course I had to also buy everything a kitten needed.  ( looking back this is not the way to buy a new pet and I would never go about it in this way now ).

So we came home with Misty.  My Dad always worked overtime on Saturday mornings and when he came home from his shift on that day he was greeted by a kitten.  He just shrugged his shoulders, had his breakfast and went to bed for the afternoon as usual.

My future sister in law Virginia arrived soon afterwards. She was quite taken with Misty and when she heard that there was another kitten left in the shop she decided to go and buy it.  So off she went. And came back with her kitten which she named Suki.   She was due to marry my brother John in a few months and they had already bought a house which they were decorating etc ready to move into after the wedding.  So the kitten couldn't go there.  It couldn't live with Virginia's Mam as there was a dog there which didn't get on with cats. ( We had a dog but it was OK with cats )  So of course Suki had to stay at my Mam's house. 

So when my Dad went to bed that afternoon we had one kitten and when he got up later we had two kittens.  Good job he was easygoing. We had Suki staying with us for a few months.  It was so much fun to have two of them and it was a sad day when Suki left to live with John and Virginia after their marriage.  But at least I could still see her as often as I wanted. I have made a collage with two shots of my Misty and one of Misty and Suki together.  Not good quality photos but at least you can see what they were like.

At 9am this morning I had an appointment at the Health Centre.  I told the doctor about the pain and asked whether it would be possible to change my scan request from routine to urgent.  She explained that urgent requests were usually only for patients suspected of having cancer - which is fair enough.  I told her that if it wasn't possible to get seen sooner then that would have to be Ok.  However she said it would be no problem to change the request.  In fact she would date the urgent request from the day it was originally sent which was last Tuesday so I might get an appointment in 2 weeks instead of 3.  And she gave me a new prescription for codeine as the box I was given at the hospital is nearly empty.  So I'm glad I persisted and saw the doctor today.

I did a bit of shopping in Tesco then it was home for my breakfast - and a doze on the sofa.  I felt Ok so I decided to go to Fitness Class this afternoon.  I managed fine although I was quite worn out afterwards.  Back home for another rest with a hot water bottle to cuddle as the pain had returned. More codeine.  Then a shower - then down to the village for the third time to go to Slimming Club.  Lost 2.5 pounds - and was joint Slimmer of the Week.  I shared the fruit basket with another lady.  It was a full one this week and my share was 2 bananas, 4 apples, 3 oranges, 1 plum and 1 kiwi.

Steps today - 17,603   (#exhausted )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.