Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Lake at Night

It was after 10pm when I realised that I'd not taken a photograph today, so I grabbed the camera and a tripod. I first went up to Newlands Corner, but there were cars dotted around the parking area, some visibly rocking, others parked close together and obviously up to something illecit. Some rabbits scarpered from the headlights when I arrived. It was probably only those that rustled in the nearby undergrowth however, although I'm not usually faint hearted, I got cold feet and decided it wasn't the place for me to be on my own with a camera and lenses.

I drove down to the fishing lake. The sky wasn't totally clear but the thin layer of cloud wasn't totally obscuring the stars. I half expected one of bailiffs to run out of a house and ask me what I was doing but I was very much alone, and felt comfortable. I took a number of shots but this is the one that came out best. I should have exposed this a little more but there again am happy with the effect now that I've brought out a little more light.

I'll go back to Newlands corner another time in the dark, but it will be before I come home one morning or with a friend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.