The second half of life..

By twigs

Rock and swirl

Headed away a little after 10.00am but didn't get far as the journey through Greytown piqued my interest.  Had a wander up and down the main drag and the thing that struck me most was how utterly unique the shops here are.  There's a noticeable absence of the usual High Street chains but instead there's a wealth of boutique-style art outlets, craft outlets, cafes, gift shops, antique shops...........it was such a pleasant surprise to browse things that were so very different.

Onward then to the least favoured chore - the dump station visit. Yay. I'll say no more.  

Martinborough was the next stop along the way where I stopped to pick up a few supplies at what has to be the biggest, best stocked and most interesting Four Square supermarket I've seen.  I think it may be the main supermarket for the whole town which helps to explain the stock variety - again it appears that this town doesn't have any 'regular' High Street supermarket chains.  I wonder whether my observations are purely random or whether there's any significance in the High Street chains apparently deserting the Wairarapa?

Anyway, my chosen stopping spot tonight is a wee parking spot about 5kms from Ngawi on the Southern Wairarapa coast.  It's good to hear the sound of the sea again.  Think I'll sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.