Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A day at the races

Actually that's not quite true....I was booked to attend an afternoon photographing the horse racing at Epsom Downs as today was their first meet of the season. Epsom Downs race course is on public property, so the horses race around the track while dog walkers and people stroll across the Epsom Downs. So we did not actually attend the races, these images were taken from the other side of the barrier as the horses raced by.

I was in two minds as to whether I should go or not, as I am still not feeling that great. But then I figured if I can do the grocery shopping, cooking, laundry and ironing I can treat myself to an afternoon of photography! It was freezing cold up on the Downs as it is very exposed there and very high - one can see the London buildings from up there. I was well wrapped up though.

This was possibly the most difficult photography I have ever done. We were warned that the horses come by very quickly, and to be prepared. I never realised just how quickly. You take a shot at your maximum focal range as they come into sight, and as you are trying to reduce the focal length they are already going past you. We saw four races and one race we stood at the starting gates - there is no signal or anything to mark the start so next thing they were off and I missed the starting moment. I always have the view that if I come home with 10 images I like then that is a good day, so this was a good day. I have added extras - see the second one with all hooves off the ground.

Surprisingly Epsom Downs only has about seven race meets in a year, the main one being the famous Epsom Darby which the queen attends every year. I may go again to another meet as it is very exciting to photograph these beautiful animals.

Day 2 of antibiotics and I feel okay - my lungs (in my back and my chest) are not so painful when I cough, but my head still feels thick and I am so blocked up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.