Korimako (Bellbird)

This morning I picked up Kiwilizzie and friend Max and we walked the Matakitaki 6 mile. I took my camera along hoping to spot a bush robin. No such luck, but I did take photos of the waterfall.

Then at lunch time Kiwilizzie suggested a trip out to Maruia Lodge for a meal. An offer too good to pass up. When we arrived this bellbird (Korimako) was flitting about. He seemed to have an injured wing and was not as timid as they usually are. It gave me a chance to get a couple of good shots of him (without the 500mm lens).

The Bellbird is a small native bird, (smaller than a thrust, slightly bigger than a sparrow). They feed on nectar, insects and ripe fruit and berries, but being khaki green they are seriously hard to spot - easy to hear though as they have a beautiful bell-like song. This one is a male - he has the purplish blush on his face. The female is slightly paler and has a narrow white stripe under the eye.

Definitely more musical when seen in large.
And as Cabbagetree pointed out, I blipped a bellbird a year ago too.

Great lunch too, and seriously good coffee - (thanks Michelle).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.