An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Penny for your thoughts...

Archive Blipped 23.05.19

Hello Gran, 

Yesterday (22.05.19) would have been your 101st birthday.  That means it is 10 years this year (come August 14th) since I last held your hand and last kissed your cheek.  

I looked out this photo to photograph and blip on your birthday but realised I could blip it on the actual date it was taken.  

Here we are on our way home from spending a rather damp Easter weekend at Loch Morar.  Grandpa is just out of shot and mum took the photo.  

I was 17 and had been going out with David for four months, and the last thing I wanted was be dragged away from him for the whole Easter weekend to spend it in a caravan on a remote loch in the Western Highlands.

But of course you and Grandpa worked your magic and despite my sullen teenage expression (how tiresome that must have been for you) I enjoyed every minute of your company.  The stories you told, the laughs we had, your wise words and of course the love that emanated from you that made me always feel loved, safe and home, whenever I was with you, wherever we were.

I clearly remember this photo being taken.

As we came round the corner of the road, the view of the silver sands of Morar that greeted us made us catch our collective breaths and we just had to stop and get out the car and set foot on the sand.

We had a wander at the water's edge then made our way back to sit on the rock and enjoy the view.  We chatted about the weekend and I had to admit that despite having wanted to stay home, I was glad that I had come.  

As we sat on the rock agreeing that Scotland is the most beautiful country in the world (FACT), you, knowing that I'd missed David (young love eh?!! :-)) predicted that I would return one day with him as my husband and we would sit on the same rock and enjoy the view together.  You said this while grinning and winking at me and almost knocking me off the rock with one of your comedy shoves!  I laughed, embarrassed, and told you not to be so daft.

But you weren't daft were you?  And later this year, on our journey home from Stornoway, David and I will drive down that little road behind us in the photo, David for the first time and me for the second.  We will stop and I will do my absolute best to find that rock or at least where that rock was and we will sit together enjoying the view having (by then) been married for thirty years, and thirty-five and a half years since you and I sat there and you made your prediction.

I can't wait :-)))

Love you and miss you forever xxx

P.S. Please give Grandpa a big hug from me <3 

Song of the day :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.