a town called E.

By Eej

Morning has broken

Late last night we came home from Eric's, me slumped in the car with a festive bow stuck to my face, when I saw movement down the road. Movement on four legs. Now, it could be the lemoncello, the krupnik or the celtic crushes talking - but the first thing I thought was SANTA'S SLEIGH!
I started making noises so the Beloved slowed down the car and we sort of coasted down the road. From one the neighbouring gardens a troop of at least 6 deer stood looking at us looking at them. I'm sure they were up to no good, but at least I was only partially hallucinating; no sleigh, no rein - just deer.


My desired Christmas Morning Sunrise almost didn't happen because of the evening's excitement, but we made it to my tree with seconds on the clock. I stood in the frozen corn field when the sun cast the first rays over the horizon and lit up the world. It was extra special because we haven't seen much sun in the last week or so.

Then it was back home for stollen, presents and Radio 2's Top 2000 and all was merry and bright.

The rest of the day will be equally peaceful, with the Beloved playing with his new toys and me making a veggie roast, and I'm thankful for that. I'm thankful for many things this Christmas.

I hardly ever say this - but for once I'm really happy with this image; please try large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.