The beach that keeps on giving

Last year when we stayed at Daybreak I spent ages on the beach collecting bits of sea pottery https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2440534803846529116
I like to pick a bit of glass or pottery off any beach I visit and my favourite is blue and white china or pottery or blue glass. This year hasn't disappointed. Here's about a twentieth of what I've picked up so far. There's lots of other blue and white, some other colours and some sea glass but it's not classic. I'll take the whole lot home, along with the pebbles and shells and sort it out there.

It's an enjoyable way to pass an hour on the beach. I know that old pottery and glass are far from the worst pollutants of the maritime environment but they're things that wouldn't be in the sea if we'd not put them there. So I'm doing a minor beach clean while treasure hunting.

Unlike yesterday today's weather forecast has been accurate. It is pretty wet. I've been out for a couple of walks but only to get some air and look for a blip. And in the end I've resorted to the sea pottery after all.

We had been going to treat ourselves to a meal at the Pierowall Hotel tomorrow night as an end of holiday occasion but we've decided to go tonight. It's a reason not to get out of wet walking clothes and into pyjamas. If we weren't going out the temptation would be quite strong! As it is what passes for gladrags will be on show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.