Another heron sunrise at Snells

Last evening we were treated to a golden moon rising in the east over Kawau Bay, and a visit from S' brother. He, tsuken, Jesafly and I had a wee glass each of my new whisky; the Ardbeg 10 year old. Sitting on the deck in the fading light, we found the whisky to be perfect.

This morning I woke early enough to be out on a run before sunrise. Initially it seemed that there was too much low cloud in the south east. However, by the time I got down to the Snells Beach foreshore, the sun was emerging above that low cloud and casting brilliant colours into the water of the bay. The tide was at the perfect time before high tide, where the water is close enough in yet shallow enough for the waders.

At the southern end of the beach I regularly see a solitary heron in the mornings; there are often groups here in the late afternoon/evening. The sun appeared to be bursting as it came above the cloud line, and the heron posed beautifully in the shallows not far from me. This picture is as it came from the camera onto the laptop.

After breakfast I started working in the garden. Sweeping up leaves and pohutukawa flower stamens; weeding; planting; planning the next bits to do with S (she does the planning and I say whether I can do it or not). Spent time with the two grandchildren still at the beach house while their parents (Tsuken and Mrs T) went for a jog and coffee.

By mid afternoon I was ready for a rest and sat down with a cold beer until the tsukens returned from their afternoon activity of playground and beach walk, during which tsuken was clever enough to photograph a landing heron.

An early light meal with the children as their parents readied themselves to go out for a meal and The Hobbit. Tired children have gone to bed very early at their own request. I'm posting this as S gets the chance to read a bit more. Her brother will join us when their mother has retired to bed, and he and I will have another dram or two, and enjoy the view of the bay from the deck, with another splendid moonrise anticipated.

Tension going, and energy returning. This is the place to be.

Additional Note: I have looked back at my previous blips; one year and two days ago I posted A heron sunrise. I am fortunate to be able to stay in this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.