Alberta

By Alberta

A quiet smoke?

It is full on festival time here in India. And today is the day of the elephants. First we went down to the beach to watch the gathering of the people and as usual many throwing themselves in the water. We sat at a coconut stall where first they cut the top off so that you can drink the water with a straw and then they cut the whole thing open so that you can eat the very soft flesh... and we decided to try the deep fried chillies!! Are we mad or what. I was expecting to get my head blown off but actually it was rather nice ... or am I being acclimatised. It was spicy don't get me wrong but very tasty!! And the stall holder then threw in (well passed rather than threw you understand!) a deep friend banana... oh we are getting so full as I have just had coconut and jagiri (brown sugar) wrapped in coconut paste and all wrapped in a palm leaf (that bit you don't eat!!) and tonight we are going out to New Year's Eve dinner too!!!

So we went to watch the elephants getting prepared for the festival.. I find them such marvellous animals. I am moved every time I see them ... late at night they may walk past our house as they are led home .. then with few chains on them. And they are so so majestic ... and move so silently and fast ..

There is a lot being done to protect the elephants but there is a long way to go.. For now I just marvel at the chances I have to be close to them...

A very Happy New Year to everyone ... you are great friends to have ..

The start of the procession is here. I might have posted this blip but thought it was rather sad. And one more...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.