Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Not looking like dandelions

I changed the photo after I added more definition to a "building" on the hill.  Thanks to the great eye of a fellow blipper.   Makes the painting a little more interesting!   

My third attempt at painting a watercolor and this is what I learned this time.   Again!  

Less is best...I used too much green in the foreground so my yellow was not as bright as I wanted even with the layers of yellow.   I just finally quit with it.  Dandelions became yellow flowers in a field by the fence.  

Go big...I tried painting on a smaller sheet of paper while looking at a larger print of the scene.  This is hard to get the right perspective.  I did get the fence line okay and the fading away rolling hills are there but not what I really wanted.   Next time I will just use the larger paper.  And less paint.  

Practicing making crappy paintings is the best way to learn.  There is a long way before I get to satisfaction that what I paint is perfect.  Sort of like photos but painting will take longer.  

 Perfection is in the imperfection.

I learned a phrase recently from  Damnonii who is a wonderful watercolorist!   


KISS....keep it simple stupid!    I had to change the stupid to something southern...Keep it simple Sugar!      Stupid is not normally in my vocabulary!     


Out to lunch at the IHOP today with my friend Judy.  We love pancakes and bacon for lunch.  And iced coffee!!    It is super hot outside and I know my toes will be swelling up until I have Hobbit toes!    But worth it for girl time!  

Have a good Wednesday!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.