An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Kiss...

Lola had a peaceful night, which is what we expected as she slept off the anaesthetic.  

By lunchtime she'd been outside to do her business and eaten some poached chicken.  

She's since eaten her proper dinner and had two five minute lead walks in the back garden.  Between times she has spent the day less than a foot from David's side at all times, apart from when she was having cuddles with me.  We've also had a wagging tail more than once, so she's definitely feeling a bit better.

I feel guilty at putting her through pain but relieved at knowing she will no longer have seasons (which made her feel miserable) or worry about her getting pregnant.

Please feel free to ignore the following.  It's more a written note to my future self to remind me where my head was at this stage of my new painting journey.

When I paint, it try to abide by the KISS principle - Keep it simple stupid. 

It's not easy as I have learned that my approach to life is more complicated.  It is not less is more, but most definitely more is more.  

Four for dinner?  I cater for eight six.
Going on holiday for a week? I pack for a month fortnight.
It's 3am, just a couple of more chapters pages of my book.
And I will never, NEVER understand gorgeous women who walk the red carpet / go to a posh dinner party / wedding / black tie function all dressed up to the nines but wearing NO jewellery!!  Yes I know they think their perfectly formed and tanned clavicles and décolletage are all that's needed to showcase their stunning attire but I'm sorry, no!  There's not a neckline, delicate wrist, perfect earlobes or manicured hands that cannot be enhanced by a perfect piece of jewellery....

So yes, in my book, more is most definitely more ;-))

But when it comes to watercolour painting, less IS most definitely more as just the slightest over touch of the brush can take a painting from beautiful to straight to the bin.  

This is a very slightly longwinded way of saying I am enjoying painting, but boy oh boy am I learning some very hard lessons! 

Today's painting was about trying out new paper, a new brush and just having a play really, whilst trying to keep things simple.  I still managed to go further than I intended but managed to stop myself going totally OTT.  I hope  I still have that resolve tomorrow when the painting is completely dry!  So much more fiddling could be done!

Perhaps the trick is to do two paintings at a time of the same subject - one that doesn't get over worked and one that I fiddle with to my heart's content, as I am beginning to suspect it's the fiddling that appeals to me more than the end result.

Hmmmmm.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.