Twrch Trail

So, after a late night last night celebrating the New Year with a whiskey or two, Geoff, Phil and I headed to Cwmcarn this morning.

Cwmcarn is a purpose built mountain bike route just north of Newport in South Wales. It has a 10 mile circuit called the Twrch Trail which you are supposed to blast around in an hour or so. It's an easy trip from Bristol and feels far removed from the type of countryside on this side of the Bridge.

It starts with a long, technical climb which made me regret some of last night's imbibing.

It ends with a wild descent that puts a fair amount of stress on your body (at my age and all...!) and gets the adrenaline flowing.

The weather was great and felt extra special given the run of rain that we've had.

Now back in Bristol and still on a bit of a post-ride high.

Bike washed, hot shower completed, Mrs Running Backwards' soup consumed and a guilt free nibble on some Christmas chocolate. Only one scrape to my knee, which I cannot remember receiving but is now throbbing away.

The picture is of Geoff so apologies to Phil, who I didn't get quite where I wanted him. Other apologies to Phil for reminding him he had the big W tomorrow.

Son #1 and #2 stayed up last night and behaved impeccably. I am recording it here so I can compare when we get to this stage next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.