flavia13

By flavia13

THE LYING SCOTSMAN

After attending a Coffee Morning being run by a friend down the road on behalf of The Rotary I decided I would go to Carnforth to see if I could see The Flying Scotsman.  According to info found from websites, including it's own it was meant to stop for 30 minutes in Carnforth for passengers to have a photo taken at The Brief Encounter Clock.  This was wrong, it stopped just outside Carnforth for water and not accessible to the public.

Oh well I thought I would wait and see it.  Trouble is because I just grabbed the camera and ran I found I only had two bars left on the battery (3 is for full) then I discovered I didn't have my memory card - aaarrrrgggh.. Luckily I remembered I always keep a spare one in the back of my purse just in case - phew!!

On arrival there was only me there, but I was very early.  So I had lunch in the cafe.  Then got chatting to people when I discovered that the websites were wrong and actually found someone who knew where it was coming from.

I got into a reasonable position and waited.  I only managed a couple of reasonable photos, which I will include in extras but this one would have been OK if I'd just waited half a second and got the "F" in - hence it now has a new name "The LYING Scotsman!!!!  I thought because of that it would do for my Silly Saturday entry.  Thanks to admirer for hosting,

If I can find out correct information I may go back this evening for its return - but will it be too dark for photos!!??  Probably won't go as it will be way past my bed time!!??

I was going to get the train to Carnforth, I'm so glad I didn't as Northern Trains are appalling AGAIN, as they cancelled the one I would have got as well as the one back - because THEY DIDN'T HAVE ANY DRIVERS!!!

Hope you've all had a good day.  Thank you for dropping by and see you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.