Back to Williamsburg, Va.

The morning was sad......  The family reunion was done.....  One couple headed south and west to return home to Texas.   My cousin, wife, and 2nd cousins headed north to Pennsylvania.  It was very sad to say good bye, for we had been up past midnight, last night, playing a card game and laughing ourselves silly.
      So......  now you ask, what did I do?  I returned to Historic Williamsburg, as I am still on vacation!  Yesterday was so wonderful, and since my ticket is good for a year,  and no place that I had to be, I went back for my history and fun.
       Today the temp was 74, overcast, dry air and incredibly comfortable.  As I arrived at the site, it was off and on, sprinkling.  I grabbed my raincoat, and decided to leave the camera in the car.  All of todays pics are iPhone.  It was beautiful there.  Lots of people for a Saturday, and loads of kids on rented bikes riding up and down the streets.  There also were electric scooters (all rentable) zipping all around with happy kids and parents running behind, doing their best to keep up with the energetic kids.
    As I walked, I soon realized the Saturday morning market was alive and full.  I wandered towards the area, which was bustling with people.  Barnes and Noble was there with a bookstore and cafe, William and Mary College had a book store,  Many, many shops....   from Christmas, to Mercantile, to Cheese, to wine tasting, too souvenirs, clothes, memorability, Iris plants, art, paintings, fresh vegetables, balloons.....  It was jammed and wild!  I had a terrific time wandering amongst the crowd! (extras)
1. and 2. Market    #.A very old tree, and that's a 6' plus man standing there, delivering a talk.  4 A typical revolutionary home.
     I had time to walk all the rest of the colonial town, appreciate buildings, steeples, listen to a Fife and Drum march....   It was wonderful.  Around 4, and very hungry I headed to Olive Garden and ate before returning to the hotel.  It was a lovely day, well spent and enjoyed
    Tomorrow, I will turn my car north and west to Shanksville, Pennsylvania.  It is the site where the flight crashed on 9/11.  I wish to go and pay my respects and honor to the passengers who chose to do the right, hard thing.  It was brave, courageous, and very American.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.