Mar In Urbana

By MarMilner

Meet Libby

Today I adopted another little gal. It happened in such an awesome way. If you knew me at all (as so many friends of mine do) you'd know that I wasn't doing well at ALL. I was so very depressed and I couldn't imagine how I was going to get through another day let alone forever. I had thought, would I even get another cat. I knew I didn't ever ever want to go through loving and losing another cat again. Well New Years Day night I decided to just go online and look to see what cats were available at the Humane Society. I saw one that sounded kind of good. She looked a lot like Cuddles and I wasn't sure that was a good idea, but I'd go the next day and see what they had. When I woke up the next morning that horrible feeling of deep depression had lifted off of me. I have so many caring friends that were praying for me. I just couldn't believe how I was feeling. Anyway at 3:00 in the afternoon my son and I went cat shopping :-). I looked at dozens of cats. I took two that were in cages into one of their get acquainted rooms to spend one on one time with the cat. Then they had this room they call the community room that allows about 15 cats to live in a room with a sofa. So I went in there and picked up this one cat and put her on my chest and she just didn't move. Just stayed there and purred and purred (not sure how you spell that). I turned her over and held her like a baby in my arms and she didn't move. Just looked at me and kept purring. We feel in love. I said to my son this is my new kitty. She was older than I had planned on getting. I thought 2 years old would be my max. She is actually 6 years old. (I just knew I didn't ever want to lose another cat). I told them I would take her. They had me fill out an application and there is usually a 2-3 day waiting period to get approved. When I walked out of the room with the app (hadn't given it to them yet) they said oh and by the way you're approved. When do you want to get her. I said Friday noon. So when I left there I said I know what I am going to name her. I'll call her Velcro ( cause we just stuck to each other). I have since changed her name to Libby. The owner of "Paws and Remember" name is Libby. What Libby did for me to help me with Cuddles (Cuddles passed away when her business was closed) was beyond unbelievable. I called her today and ask if she'd mind if I'd name my new cat after her and she seemed so pleased. I still see things all around my home that sets me to crying again but I think I am doing better than I ever dreamed I would or could. I was wondering what my blip friends would think. How could she consider getting another cat so soon. I had loved Cuddles with everything I had. I had done everything I could do to keep her comfortable and alive. In the end she just couldn't fight anymore. I didn't want to do anything that would diminish her memory. I hope Cuddles would be pleased with my decision.

Now to begin my life with Libby.I don't know what to expect. It will be a new adventure for the both of us. I just know I need a little kitty to love on and I think she too wants someone to love. So as I said yesterday, "Stay tuned". This story is just beginning.

Not sure how many more blips you'll see of Libby. She is such a dark color she is impossible to get a good blip. I took dozens today.

Thank you doesn't seem enough to say to all of the blipper friends I have made since joining this blip community. All through Cuddles illness and her passing your kind thought and loving comments have helped more than you will ever know. Hugs to everyone of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.