fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Airport

On Thursday night I met up with @TheAshleyJones and @DeanFeelHips to to go and see @cyberdonkey's band, Kai's Cats, play at Ronnie Scott's. It was a bloody splendid evening and I'd encourage you to go and see them if you can: first Thursday of every month. (I'd also encourage you to have a few drinks in the Dog and Duck first as Ronnie Scott's bar prices are ridiculous.)

Consequently, then, Friday morning was a little bit dazed and jaded at first. Fortunately, I had the morning to myself and only a meeting at Heathrow in the afternoon. I'd already decided that for my picture, I'd take a shot of the fountains outside Terminal 5 and maybe have a play with Snapseed, which I'm beginninig to get the hang of.

I was a bit put out, then, when I arrived to find the fountains were switched off. As they're flush with the ground, I guess Heathrow worries about ice as this time of year. Whatever, that was no help to me and since it would be dark when I left, I looked around for something else to take a picture of.

This artefact in the photo is at the far end of the plaza. I've looked at it many times bit I can't really suss it out. Are those groups of three letters abbreviations for airports, maybe? Normally, they light up in groups of three and then the illumination proceeds around the arc but yesterday, as I watched, the whole thing lit up. I don't believe in 'signs' but I'll take whatever's going :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.