Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

the photo says it all....

At Emusa primary school today with the Early Childhood class and teacher!  I was happy when I went into the room as they had nice child sized chairs and tables.  However, it was a primary school lesson from start to finish with children listening to the teacher and then 'writing' in their books!!  Some had to come and copy onto the blackboard!  There were no play materials at all!

The faces of these kids say it all - they had name tags round their necks and I felt like I was in some sort of prison!  After breaktime, I suggested we take the children outside and play some games. The teacher did not know any outdoor games and she was wearing the wrong footwear for participating!  I had good fun with the kids!.

Again, another trained teacher....I am beginning to wonder what they do at the Early Childhood teacher training....I think I need to go and find out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.