Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Pencils #2

I was chatting to a colleague yesterday, someone who has come back to the profession after making a living from art for more than 20 years. We have had many enlightening discussions about art and photography. I will admit that I have learnt much more from him than he is likely to have learnt from me.

His insight into my images has made me look afresh at my work, challenge my views and recognise the subtle components of some shots which make them stand out from others. He is a great critic, which I value as I continue to develop my work.

Anyway, our chat revolved around the need to continue to work on a subject, re-evaluating what you have produced, stretching beyond your original ideas until you have explored different ways of shooting the image. So you have pencils again.

Taken with a Nikon D800, 90mm, 1.3 sec @ f20. 14 shots focus stack. Single light above and to the right. The pencils are lying on my iPad screen which I am still having to use to upload images in the absence of a working landline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.