The Night Watch

It might have been overcast but it was dry, so my lack of success in finding anything to photograph in daylight hours led me to head out into the darkness.

One of the things I love about night photography is it's quite often surprising what you get. While we might bemoan light pollution, it can create some interesting effects. I can imagine as the shutter is open for extended seconds, the image forming, the oranges and the whites expanding like pond ripples from their artificial sources until the shutter snaps closed. Sometimes I set the focus to infinity and point. Select a best guess (random) shutter speed and shoot. See what I get then adjust and try again.

In this case though what was most intriguing was the pair of green eyes I could see some distance away through my head torch. Everything else was darkness, so I set up the tripod and took the shot to see what I might get. I was pretty sure it was going to be a sheep but you just never know!

Thank you for the feedback for 'Leaving the Lakes'. I really do appreciate it and you're too kind. Catching up is going to take me a while as real life is also there and I'm busier than ever, but I will get round; and thanks also to the new subs. I hope to say hello soon but in the meantime if you're new to Blip - it's a great place - you've done the right thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.