It's all about the Light

Leaning out of the office window this morning just before 9am...

As you do!

New and old colleagues wondering what on earth I'm doing. I'm still amazed that some people can see a rainbow and just shrug their shoulders. Granted they have been commonplace this past few weeks but they're still amazing.

We know that they're scientific... but it does make me wonder sometimes about how come so many things are just gorgeous, when they're natural occurrences. Is a rainbow gorgeous because it's a random thing that just happened to be pleasing to the eye, or have we over evolution come to see it as gorgeous.

I've thought of this about animals too. Why is a lamb or a puppy, or a kitten or a lion cub so gorgeous? Or a baby? What is that defining thing? Or is it because for the planet to continue to work, it needs life, and for life to work we need to protect the young, and therefore some evolutionary thing is triggered in our brains when we see a cub that goes 'Awwwww' and makes us want to look after it?

I'm not sure where I'm going with this. Just the random musings of someone who's had a long.... long.... day.

Monstrous headache today! Really unfair - I had a couple of pints last night for my birthday. Two bloody pints! And I woke up with a headache that felt like I'd had Twenty!

And it stayed with me all day - verged into migraine territory and only weapons grade pills kept it from turning me into a total wreck. It's still there but hopefully a good sleep will kill it.

Forecast for the weekend in the Lakes is looking OK! Might even get a bit of snow :o)

Thanks for the response to yesterday's blip and the birthday wishes Blippers. Thanks to the new subs too - sorry if it looks like I'm ignoring you. It does take me a while but I will drop in and say hello - I just get so little time to do my blip community service I'm afraid that I'm usually very late!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.