Fencing In The Fog

And failing

Over a week into the new year and I've already felt myself settling into lazy habits. I've been enjoying the commute on the train and a chance to do some reading (currently Life of Pi because I didn't want to see the film without first reading the book), but today I managed to break out of this pattern of comfort and mountain-biked into work over the moor. It was a bit of a shock to the system. It's a hard enough climb even when I'm in condition!

There was a strange kind of double temperature inversion going on this morning. I climbed through one layer of mist into clear air but had to climb through another before eventually emerging into the sun. By that time I was right up at the masts at Keighley Gate with no alternative but to descend right back into the fog and very cold air. I stopped to take this at the boundary layer. My dose of sunshine seems to be limited to just a couple of minutes every couple of days at the moment!

Another reason for getting on track with the training is that I seem to be eating very well at the moment, possibly too well! My weight has been pretty much constant for the last twenty years, the only real change occurring at the time of the Cent Cols Challenge when I lost about six pounds during the event which I put immediately back on when I got home, and then a further six pounds as my appetite refused to settle down to normal levels. Following my recent trips to Ireland I have been positively feasted at the hands of TJ's good friends, who are all wizards in the kitchen. I've tried to recreate a bit of that magic back home, realising that my own cooking had become rather boring in recent years, and I think I've been succeeding. I've certainly enjoyed spicing things up a bit. Thanks for the inspiration all of you. You know who you are!

Added to that there are now new owners of the health food store in Shipley and their lunchtime menu is amazing. Their sandwiches are incredible. On offer today was "Goats cheese, beetroot and crispy butternut squash with pesto, vegetable crisps and honeyed walnuts", made with their freshly baked bread. My "grab a sandwich" has taken on a whole new meaning. Each visit becomes a whole new culinary experience. And they are also the most lovely people. At least I felt like I'd earned my lunchtime extravaganza today.

So, the kitchen awaits and I can't linger, but just a quick thank you to everyone who left encouraging comments about yesterday's Burdened. The devil is always in the detail and I'm so glad you noticed that woman's face in the distant window. That was a very lucky accident but it made the shot a keeper. I'm sure there is a poem to be written but I fear my head is not in the right place for that. I'll willingly accept contributions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.