Window Shopping

Felt like a long day today.. Had to drive out to the airport to physically buy a plane ticket to Las Vegas. I commented to the ticket agent that I cannot recall ever having bought a ticket at the airport before.
Aside from taking over an hour driving round trip, it wasn't too much time out of my day in the end.

For Clinical Interviewing, we had actual patients for the first time. All of our patients had Diabetes (half type I/half type II) and we got to ask them all sorts of questions about their initial diagnosis, their involvement in their treatment, how they're managing it, their struggles, triumphs, etc.
It was actually my favorite interviewing session we've had thus far. Not going to go into the details with my particular patient because I'm not really sure how much that concerns HIPAA, but I am really concerned about the people we interviewed today. Well, some of them.. the ones who seem like they have a lot of complications from their disease.. It just gets to me. I can tell already that I am not going to be the type of physician who is just going to leave work at home. Will need to work on striking a healthy balance.

This week is going to be mentally challenging. I can't do everything I want to do. I have to pace myself. Take things one day at a time and work off my todo list.

BJ called as I was heading home and asked if I wanted to join her and a new EAM hire (Lauren) for dinner. That was an immediate answer to prayer. Totally immediate. I had just gotten off the phone with my dad telling him that I just wanted to go to dinner with someone and I didn't want to be alone. Huzzah! So I met them down on Magnolia for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.