Goldfinches

I was watching a cluster of goldfinches, coal tits and great tits on the feeders this morning and thought, 'it is about time I did some more bird pics'. 

I set up the camera on the tripod in the garden, and connected it to my iPhone via the Arsenal AI gadget I kickstarted some time back but almost never used. It allowed me to keep an eye on the feeder from indoors.

Inevitably, for the next two hours, not s single bird landed on the feeders. A couple dropped down to the bird bath, but I wasn't able to redirect the camera without going outside, which would have scared off the subjects.

Then, hurray, a coal tit landed on the niger feeder. Instantly I leapt into action - and the camera battery failed - well, it's not used to being active for such a long time.

I put in a new battery, and managed to watch halfway through a movie before three goldfinches came in for a top up feed. Of course, the third one went behind the feeder, but hey ho I think this is a pretty decent shot.

Clearly though, I need to clean the feeders if I'm going to make more use of them for photography... or even for the birds. Have a happy weekend, folks, despite the dreadful nonsense going on tomorrow in Westminster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.