Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Composition

As part of my improving my photographic skills, I have decided to improve my composition skills. I think that my composition style tends to be rigid and so I want to try new avenues. A key driver is a recent book (more about the book in a future blip) that I purchased on the topic which is very helpful.

Today was beautiful day here with the sun shining and the weather a balmy 52 degrees F (11 celsius). Much of the snow from Monday has melted and so it is beginning to feel like spring is upon us.

As I drove back from breakfast with the rest of the TMG family, I noticed this spot. I returned an hour later and took multiple shots trying to get the right composition. I came away with a number of keepers and decided to post this one today and may go back again this week.

I like this shot because it is framed on the bottom by the reeds. I also like the strong reflection of the sky in the water and how the reflection of the cloud hints at the sky beyond the picture. I purposefully chose to include more of the water because I wanted to emphasize the reflection.


No Photoshopping here, just basic saturation, contrast, brightness and white balance.

Constructive criticism always welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.