The Loneliness of the Long Distance Golfer

As we were waiting on the 14th tee today this chap was trudging rather forlornly off down the 12th fairway after his drive. Playing golf by myself is something I've never done or fancied doing, though, goodness knows, I could use the practice.

For me, a lot of the fun of golf is the sociable chat and banter, the congratulations on the good shots and commiserations on the bad, the laughter at the oddities that most rounds throw up. As it happens, about 10 minutes earlier on the 10th green I'd holed an outrageously long putt (more by luck than judgement, needless to say) for a very rare birdie: I wouldn't have got anywhere near as much enjoyment out of it without someone to laugh about it my good fortune with.

Lonelier large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.