creative lenna

By creativelenna

the beach again!

What is Nia?
Nia is a sensory-based movement practice that draws from martial arts, dance arts and healing arts. It empowers people of all shapes and sizes by connecting the body, mind, emotions and spirit.


Nia on the beach is a practice that grounds me and lifts me up. It allows me to experience the joy of movement, as well as the joy of life. I am often amazed at how this practice makes me feel . . . grateful, connected, playful, happy, healthy, balanced and in awe of nature. When something is bothering me, this movement class opens my eyes to the positives I have in my life. Not just at one class, but every Nia class elicits these emotions for me. Just today my instructor Kathy Oravec paused near the end of a song to recognize outloud the beauty of the way a pelican was floating above us before moving on. Kathy is shown above, leading us through some well deserved stretches to finish our class.

Nia is based on the pleasure principal: if it feels good do it - and if it doesn't, stop. I love this because even when you have an injury you are working through like the frozen shoulder I had last year, or if someone in class has a sore knee, or if your back or neck is bothering you, or you are simply tired that day - you can still participate fully in a Nia class with out any difficulty. Everyone is encouraged to work at their own level, in their own body's way. I could write pages about Nia, but I'll stop! Thanks to my mom for suggesting I try a class, to Gail Condrick for introducing me to Nia and also training me via the Nia white belt and to Kathy for her dedication in teaching 3 classes a week on the beach and for her inspiration that gets me there!

Life is your art. An open, aware heart is your camera. A oneness with your world is your film. Your bright eyes, your easy smile is your museum.
- Ansel Adams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.