Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Denver Capitol Building

I went out to breakfast with three of my crew members this morning. I took them to my new favourite place for breakfast - Sassafras - a Creole/Southern restaurant. I blipped it recently here.

They all loved it as much as I did and even though there are SO many interesting things on the menu, we all ordered the same thing - Fried Green Tomato Benedicts with cornbread and either grits or potato casserole. We also ordered a plate of New Orleans style beignets to share, and they were almost my blip for today!

However, I couldn’t resist this autumnal picture of the Capitol Building. I left my colleagues after breakfast and went through Civic Park and past the Capitol building as well as the Courthouse, the Library, the Art Museum and the City & County building. As you can see it was a beautiful sunny blue sky day. I even sat on a park bench soaking up the rays and feeling a bit too warm in my coat.

Ironically, at breakfast I had been discussing the very weird and rapidly changing weather that Denver is known for. And while I was sitting on the park bench I experienced a perfect example of it.

Suddenly out of nowhere a strong gust of wind blew in, and I was hit by a swirl of autumn leaves. I decided it was time to walk back to the hotel anyway. Now I was COLD and by the time I got to the hotel 10 minutes later the sky was dark and grey. When we left for the airport just over an hour later the tops of the tallest buildings were hidden in the clouds and the heavy rain came soon after. I was quite surprised we didn’t see snow!

So - the lesson to be learned here, when visiting Denver - be prepared for just about any type of weather! Not just within the same day, but sometimes within the same hour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.