Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Sassafras

I woke up in Denver this morning. It turned into a beautiful sunny and warm day but the seasons have definitely changed and the mornings are very chilly. And - it even snowed here last week, but I missed it! It snowed for hours but didn’t settle too much.

I went for a walk though Civic Park and past the Capitol Building. It’s Columbus Day today, a Federal holiday, and on the steps of the Capitol building one of the Indian tribes was holding a ceremony with drumming, marching and speeches. I stood to watch for awhile but ended up continuing on to where I had planned to eat Breakfast.

The name of the place was Sassafras, a Southern restaurant that had been recommended to me. Sassafras is an aromatic herb, known as an ingredient in Root Beer, but also used a lot in creole cooking. Oh my! This restaurant was amazing, both in interesting decor and delicious food.

I will have to blip the inside on another visit, but today I am posting two parts of a long mural painted outside of the restaurant. I’m not sure of the significance of these in relation to the restaurant but they sure are colourful! More beautiful examples of Denver street art/murals/graffiti - whatever it’s called, I love it!

After my delicious brunch I continued my walking tour, exploring the neighbourhood of Uptown, along 17th Avenue. But pictures from there will have to wait for my next visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.