Scenes Of Cirencester

I’m camping for 2 days in Cirencester (see yesterday’s blip). I had a relaxing morning and then walked into town this afternoon. I had a look into a few shops and bought a couple of Christmas presents. There’s lots to photograph in town and the summer flowers are just hanging on.

The middle pictures are from the traditional family butcher - Jesse Smith & Co. I was sad to see it all boarded up last time I was here, and delighted to find out that it’s being totally refurbished and will soon open back up as a farm shop and bakery. It looks like they’re keeping a lot of the original features, inside and out (see Extra photo).

The electrician working on the team saw me taking pictures and he gave me loads of history on the place. I told him that he should become a tour guide. He laughed and said no, but he obviously knew a lot about the history of this part of town and took great pride in it.

I got back to the campsite just as it started to rain. It didn’t last long and by the time I made a cup of tea I was able to sit outside in the afternoon sun, enjoying a piece of cake I’d bought in town. Dinner was once again made in the new Remoska oven - this time just a ready made lasagna which I had with some salad. I’m very happy I have my new gadget for the Campervan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.