Ashdown House

It was time to leave the campsite today and head home. I had a relaxing morning and slowly packed up. I even had time for elevenses - coffee and a pastry, sitting outside in the autumn sunshine.

I made a stop on the way home - an extra outing. This is Ashdown House near Hungerford. It’s a National Trust house but is sadly not open to the public right now. So I planned a long walk through the extensive woodlands and down the long avenue leading away from the house. It was a grey afternoon with dark clouds looming but it was a mostly dry, warm walk. It’s been years since I’ve been here and I really enjoyed the walk. See Extra photo for a couple more views and some interesting fungi which are so common this time of year.

I didn’t walk as long or as far as I had hoped. Soon after arriving I started feeling some cold symptoms which came on suddenly and fiercely. I did a smaller loop and still really enjoyed it, treated myself to a cup of tea made in the van at the end of it. That helped my throat feel better! I was glad to get home an hour or so later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.