Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Dream of Flying

This building is not easy to get close to. I've been wanting to photograph it for ages, but didn't have the courage to explore to get to it. However, since one of my resolutions for the new year was to push the envelope a bit more with photography, I decided to give it a go today.

I had to walk onto National Rail property festooned with "no trespassing!" signs to get this shot. Thankfully for me, I managed to get permission from a very helpful railway worker in a van who kept watch (to make sure I didn't get up to mischief) while I snapped.

Because I had to snap quickly, I didn't have time to set up my tripod and pose in front of the building, so I had to take the shot of myself a little further away. This really made the process of superimposing my floating form rather laborious!

The dress I'm wearing is vintage - it belonged to my grandmother, who then passed it on to my mother, who then passed it on to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.