Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Movin’ On Up

Every December I hope for a gentle winding-down of the year and a relatively relaxed few weeks ahead of the holidays. Every December I am sorely disappointed! Life just gets busier and work seems to get more frantic... I’m SO ready for a break!

Meanwhile... this afternoon/evening I found myself helping out at a great event organised by my friend Inez as part of a project she’s leading on at work, trying to improve local services for homeless people. The event brought a range of professionals together with people who are currently homeless, or who have previously experienced homelessness, to talk to each other constructively but honestly, and look at how to move things forward.

Apart from the conversations there was bread, soup and hot drinks for all; a programme of great musical entertainment from the Choir With No Name; a self-written rap from a group of young people who’ve experienced homelessness; and the premier of my debut short film (!) which documents the experiences of my previous Blip subject, Nigel www.blipfoto.com/entry/2624213686767584506

It all went really well.

Amongst the assembled throng were my friend Sarah and her husband Steve - who you see here in all his be-capped and be-whiskered glory!

Today’s tune by Primal Scream was a highlight of this evening’s Choir With No Name performance, and had everyone in the room singing along in 4-part harmony! https://youtube.com/watch?v=SnkjvECEQr4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.