Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

London Calling

I’ve had a flying visit to London to deliver Christmas presents to my dad and to catch up with my much-loved old friend SuMay and her family. It’s always a joy to spend time with these beautiful people (see Extras). Thanks to them all for making me so welcome!

While I was in town I also managed to squeeze in visits to:
The Museum of London to see ‘London Calling: 40 Years of The Clash’ (marking an unbelievable 4 decades since the release of one of my all-time favourite albums with a wonderful exhibition of Clash memorabilia, including the bass that Paul Simonon was famously pictured smashing on stage in New York by the great Pennie Smith - as used on the album cover. Also in the Extras); 

The National Portrait Gallery to see this year’s Taylor Wessing photographic Portrait Prize exhibition (before the gallery closes for the next 3 years for a complete refurbishment);

The Photographer’s Gallery to see the ‘Shot in Soho’ and ‘Feast for the Eyes’ exhibitions.

I enjoyed every minute of it!


Today’s tune is, of course, ‘London Calling’ by The Clash https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfK-WX2pa8c 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.