Snow, Stars and Scarlet Smiles

The snow came last night, light as feathers and only seen against the glow of the street lamp, the life of each flake fleeting as it melted on the ground, it's unique like never to be seen again.

There was no settlement in my little corner of the planet when I woke, and while it attempted another sortie during the day it was soon thwarted by sunshine.

Soon after I got home I saw that the sky was clear and a beautiful crescent moon was lowering gently to kiss the horizon, so I did what any sane man would do; I togged up and headed for the moor where I knew the snow would have a stronghold.

The moor belonged to me and it felt amazing as I looked across to the bright city centres of Bradford and Leeds, closer to the sky than the thousands of others that I could see collective but only imagine individually. The wind was high and the air was icy, but it was dry and I was warm.

Clouds had begun to form and hid my crescent moon so I spent time exploring, looking for new angles to photograph, enjoying the muffled peace that only snow and remoteness can provide.

Then I looked West and saw the moon had escaped the confines of cloud and had turned ruby red, a smile as large as mine :o) I had the wrong lens on the camera and it was windy, but I had no choice as I swapped to the another lens to try to capture the moment. Alas it was too windy but maybe this provides an idea of what I could see.

As soon as I realised I wasn't going to get a good shot, I turned off the camera and just enjoyed the moment, watching as the ruby lips kissed the horizon, kissed me goodbye, and disappeared.

Thank you for the reaction to Walking on Sunshine; the same scene as this photo but a different time and angle :o) I would love to drop by everyone's journal who's commented but time doesn't allow at the moment; I'll try but I hope you'll accept a collective thanks in the meantime :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.