My Mind's Eye

By meyeeye

Getting the Shot.

Took several images for my blip today, but this one was my final choice...not only because I liked the way it turned out, but because I had to really go out of my way to capture this shot.
I had gone out for a quick walk when we arrived home today and I purposely did not take my camera....why???? you ask. Well...if I try to get exercise with my camera "on board"....it's a total loss....I get only about 30-40 feet and i'm done with exercising and am taking pictures and searching for the perfect lighting. Which is exactly what would have happened today. As I walked out my door, I walked maybe 55 seconds and then stumbled upon this beautiful "unoccupied" little snail shell. A beautiful gold tone and almost transparent in areas...my first thought...."go back and get your camera!!!!!!" " No, No, No....I have to get my exercise" and so I continued to walk. Anyway, once I had raised my heart rate just enough to say I had exercised, I quickly ran back to the beautiful snail shell picked it up,dusted it off and continued on to the house to get my camera.

With camera in hand I searched for the perfect shaft of light to photograph this beautiful little shell. I finally found the perfect spot and then I realized it....YEP....That's right....a photogs nightmare...NO CF card. "REALLY!!!"....as the sun was quickly setting....I ran back to the house again and yelled "Grab me a CF card:)" then off I flew with my little snail...camera....and CF card to get the shot!

I had a vision of just what I wanted, but in order to achieve it meant to lay the camera on the ground and lay down on my side with my face smooshed against the concrete and one eye....kinda sort looking through the viewfinder so I could manually focus. I must have looked hilarious to all of the other people around, but I was so happy when the shot I got was exactly what I had been hoping for:)

I know you can all relate....Ohhhh the things we go through to get the shot:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.