Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Christmas celebrations in Hexham

We were up early this morning and were at the doors of Hexham Abbey just after 10am for the Christmas Fayre. Here are Judy and Lesley on one of the stalls. Lesley's kitchen becomes a candle factory in the run up to Christmas. She collects all the unused wax from the Abbey candles throughout the year and then produces new candles to sell.

The place was packed. There was hardly room for people to walk up and down the aisles, never mind to see the stalls. I suggested a one way system...........

It was almost impossible with the wheelchair. Many people were very kind and helpful; others did not see the chair or were keen to get past. We were rather an impediment to proceedings.

We did meet quite a few people we know and made some small purchases, including candles. Nearly forgot - I won a bottle of bubbly on the tombola!

Then we braved the outside. It was cold and breezy, with short showers, but a relief after the crowds inside. Mum said she did not even mind being cold because the air was fresh. I managed to find a Christmas jumper for Monday's party, when we have been asked to dress appropriately for the season!!

When we returned to the car, parked correctly on double yellow lines*, I had a parking ticket. When I examined it carefully, it was a joke ticket. I saw no sign of anyone lurking near to enjoy the joke. I was accused of driving on square wheels!

The rain came after lunch and it's been grim since. I've been asleep. What luxury! I'm not venturing out tonight.

*Mum has a blue badge to allow us to park in a disabled bay (if such a thing was not already full!!) or on yellow lines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.