Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ice Birds

I was wrong about the weather - it never got above freezing today, alas.  Which meant that I was, once again, relegated to inside the house, shooting through window glass.  I've figured out something, though - it you position yourself 3 or 4 feet from the window, there is less softness caused by the extra glass.  

I stuck this sprig of berries in a pot on the deck railing when I was able to get out last week.  The winter storm the next day coated it in a layer of ice  which makes for kind of an interesting perch.  And you can't ever really go wrong with a Tufted Titmouse, can you?  

I have been wearing a shoe on my broken foot all day, a major milestone.  I am also able to get (slowly) up and down stairs in an upright position now - another breakthrough.  My foot is sore today, but I think that is to be expected and nothing to worry about.  My pace in all things right now is akin to that of a sloth ... inexorably slow.

Counting down to Christmas.  I am going to miss our annual walk on Fifth Avenue followed by French food with Kura this year on Christmas Eve.  In addition to my broken foot, she's got a terrible cold and neither of us would be up to the crowds on Fifth Avenue.  We both agreed that this is going to be a weird Christmas.  This is also the first Christmas is so many years that I won't see the tree at Rockefeller Center.  But, I still have much to be grateful for.  

Tomorrow is definitely supposed to be warmer so I am confident the snow on the patio and deck will melt, opening up a whole world to me!

Four days...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.