Right to My Door!

Over the winter months this year I'm enjoying the bounty of an every other week "Personal Harvest Bin" from Dandelion Organic Delivery, an outstanding local "mom and pop" business -- literally!

Jonny and Maria are the parents of two young sons, as well as running a home-based family business that brings fresh, seasonal organic fruits and vegetables right to their customers' homes or offices.

Their prices are competitive with local grocery stores and our food co-op, and they source as much as possible from local farmers, and beyond that, from Washington state providers and other U.S. organic growers. The Gala apples and Conference pears in this week's bin, for example, come from eastern Washington, while the carrots and potatoes come from Hopewell Farm and the Shiitake mushrooms from Cascadia Mushroom Works, both right here in Whatcom County and vendors at the Bellingham Farmers Market.

The cost of each Personal Harvest Bin is $26 (about 20 Euros/16 GBP). There is also a slightly larger Harvest Bin available for $35. I augment my bin with other items from the co-op, but the real benefits for me are the recipes included with each delivery and the expansion of my culinary adventures when I receive something I don't commonly purchase, such as this week's butternut squash.

It's a pleasure to support a small local business like this one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.