Props Play

One of the challenges of being involved in Blipfoto is trying to quell the feelings of jealousy that pop up when you see beautiful scenes on other blippers' journals, particularly when it's cold and dreary where you are and sunny where they are.

Veronica, whose blips from the south of France and nearby areas of Spain I enjoy, posted this sunny beach scene just a few days ago, followed a few days later by this appealing food still life. When I saw similar leafed citrus in the food co-op today, I decided to try to do my version of that image, since we don't have sandy beaches here, much less sunny sandy beaches, particularly in January.

I added to the scene a bottle of white wine purchased today, which caught my eye because it's from Catalunya, the area of Spain where Veronica spent some time earlier this year. The sun obligingly peeked through the clouds for a few minutes, and I snapped this more-or-less classic image.

But then, as often happens when I do still life photography, I started to play with the props -- in this case, the bottle, which had far more to offer than the satsumas. I like this hanging-in-space image and give it my Blip Runner-Up Award -- let me know which of the three you prefer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.