The second half of life..

By twigs

Garden Furniture Staining

Yay!  Finally - a calm morning.  After the usual slow breakfast I started on the oiling/staining mid-morning.  Each time I do this (about every second year) I usually find bits that I missed at some point later.  A new strategy this time - paint all 4 sides of each piece of timber before moving on to the next.  We'll see how it goes.

Got the first coat of the table and one chair done then took a tea break during which time K popped in.  It's always lovely to catch up and we can usually fill a good hour with chatter :)  After she left I resumed but alas, the wind had come up quite a bit.  I managed just one more chair before I decided it was too much and too many airborne bits and pieces would stick to the oil and spoil the finish.  I had hoped to complete everything's first coat today but that's not going to be the case.  Hopefully tomorrow I can finish off he first coats and do most second coats.  I'm thinking that some more exposed sections may even get a third coat.   It's going to be great when it's done.......!

Picture - day one - table half done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.