Cedar Park, Cedar Park

I made no blip for yesterday because my camera's date & time marker was malfunctioning and the pictures were rejected by Blip Central. Today I retraced some of my steps to well-trodden local haunts. This turned out to be the clearest image of Cedar Park, looking East from 50th Street along Baltimore Avenue. It is one block long and is shaped like a narrow slice of pizza.

I've blipped scenes many times from points all along its edges, especially to the right of this picture. Cedar Park is also used as the name of the neighborhood of which the park itself is the SW corner. When I first saw it, it was completely derelict. Over the past decade or so the kids' play equipment and a few other features have been installed, and weekly music events and food festivals mark the summer months.

I've been meaning to blip a grainy newspaper image I have of this scene from 1908, but I have not located it among my "piles" just yet. The place has a long history but as a park it is so small that most locals don't even know its name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.