Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Times Change

This is part of the frozen meats section of our local food co-op, which I've blipped several times because it moved to a much larger building about a year ago and became a more glamorous creature.

When i first joined Mariposa over 20 years ago, the only animal-related product was canned dolphin-safe tuna, and even that had its critics. The store has been deep vegan territory and to be truthful it still is, at least to a carnivore like me.

There is no fresh meats section, but the choices here are many, considering that this is the USA. Bison, lamb, goat, and duck are not to be taken for granted here.

I was very tempted by the boneless duck breast, but after staring through the glass for 10 minutes I went with ground goat and some Irish bangers that were peeking up from just below this image.

The down side of all this is that I can't afford to buy these meats except as a not-so-wise splurge or on a special occasion. This time I brought home some great heirloom finger potatoes, goat milk, and a bag of coffee beans, which were not cheap but closer to the reality of my wallet.

These are changing, but still tasty times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.