The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A quiet corner

Sledging is taking place near us in the New Cemetery, the Old Cemetery, and the little local park known as Daisybank. Cries ring out across the frozen fields, and some bossy parents shout:

"No running! Running is VERY dangerous! Listen to me, Alexander..."

As if sledging into a stone tombstone ISN'T dangerous?

I'm not sure what the dead make of it. At night it's the young spliff smokers who congregate there, making the top end of our road smell like a fat joint at midnight. That's why it's called High-field Road!

I walked around the steeply sloping cemetery, today but pack ice is all over the paths, and the toboggan tracks don't help! I had a few shots in mind, but it was hard keeping upright, even with spikes on my wellies. At last I was drawn to the far end of the Old Cemetery, where there are just three slightly isolated graves from World War One. I visit them from time to time. The sun burst out as I drew near, and gave me probably the best shot of the day. I nearly sank back on my bottom into several inches of snow as I bent down to get closer, but one day I'll remember that I have waterproof trousers, somewhere!

It seems that the Gloucestershire regiment (aka the Glorious Glosters, disbanded 1994) had a presence in Egypt. The badge/emblem at the top of the tombstone is interesting, but refuses to be put in a collage. I will add it to my blipfolio, though it is not a sharp image. It shows the Sphinx (I think) and the words "Egypt" and "Gloucestershire". I am saddened to think that, almost 93 years after Private Townsend was killed, Egypt is still a troubled country. I am afraid I know nothing at all about 393 Private Townsend, except that he was a local lad, and that the Western Front Association decorates all three war graves with poppies every year. I'm glad they do that.

The wartime spirit is in evidence in our street, with gangs of men out shovelling and gritting. I've done my share of shovelling around here, but I'm ashamed to say I haven't taken my sledge out yet. CleanSteve doesn't really like cold-weather sports, but I won't go on my own, it's greased lightning! The last time I went out on it was 2010, and shortly afterwards I caught pneumonia and spent a week in hospital. Perhaps tomorrow, if we are still having 'snow days' I'll call a friend and see if she and her daughter would like to meet on Rodborough fields for a sledgeathon. It is a fear that needs to be overcome.

Thanks for all the lovely comments on my snow scene yesterday, I've not had a chance to answer them all, but I'll get there just as soon as I've finished feeding the blackbirds for the sixty sixth time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.