The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On the buses - route 46 - Only a winter tree

School was back on again today, and I took spikes and a walking stick to prevent slipping. Stopped to buy a replacement rubber tip/ferrule for it, thus reminding me of another word I'd clear forgotten through lack of use!

Leaving work, I popped down to the park to check on the swans/cygnets. Two out of the three cygnets are still with their parents; maybe the third has flown? To my surprise, I was accosted by a woman by the pond with a microphone who asked for my views on 'competitive parents'. I would rather have talked about wildlife in winter, but hey ho, don't listen out for me on the breakfast show on BBC radio Glos tomorrow! Usually I'm found to be talking complete garbage and sounding like an utter prat.

Then I had to get the bus to Cheltenham to visit the dentist's. Some evil part of me urged me to get off the bus early, so I could case the charity shops of Leckhampton, before walking into town. Big mistake! Slush-puppy pavements all the way, AND the dentist's had moved! Then some good/bad news about a bit of decay which has apparently stopped decaying. Who knew that could happen? Made an further appointment for 24th July (!) and wondered whether the current dentist would still be there, or if he'd have emigrated to Australia, as did the last one. Hmmm, Australia. Tempting right now...

Had no appetite for further trudging 'n' sludging, so caught the bus back to Stroud. The sun was shining, and I did remember to use the white snow/sand setting on my camera, but of course I was on the moving bus, couldn't focus, and the windows are always dirty. So, my tree-and-frozen-driveway shot is not enough, but I liked the setting sun. I put the comic effect on because of the dirty windows! There is a lightning-struck tree that I always want to capture on the 46 bus route, but the bus never slows down, and it's on an awkward bend. So this is A. N. Other tree.

Back home, Bomble is rushing around, tearing things up, and leaping on to surfaces. He has just been outside, so perhaps he knows that another weather front is coming in? CleanSteve has gone to a meeting: he was planning to walk, but it's a hell of a trek across the tundra. Perhaps he'll drive, if the car will start.

More On the Buses blips are listed in my bio.

Safe travels, everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.