Sugar Magnolia

By cew

Linda and Bob in Lake Erie

Today my friend Linda (aka BigHill) called me to see if I wanted to go out on a blip adventure. For sure I did!! I don't often get to go blippin' with others (or never). So we decided to go to Port Stanley and see what we could get up to.
I took quite a few shots as did Linda and we had Linda's dog Zoe running freely along the beach having a great old time.
Soon we came upon this man who looked pretty down and out of luck. I was thinking pretty unkind things about this guy....making assumptions about him....like he did look kind of crazy and homeless. So we just averted our eyes and walked passed him. I think I may have said I'd take his picture but he scares me or something (bitchy) like that.

Well a couple of minutes later Zoe fell through the ice and was struggling for her life. We were screaming at her to get out of the water but it was just too deep for her. Linda was about to go in and save her and I was screaming at her not to....someone else got Linda's cell phone and I called 911. It was all very surreal and horrible.

All of a sudden here comes this man that may or may not be homeless and he starts walking on the ice....then he falls thru and starts breaking the ice with his hands and continues towards Zoe. The ice was too thick for his hands so he starts breaking it with his elbows.
Well, he gets to Zoe and leads her towards the shore.
Another man runs up with a life preserver that we throw towards Linda because of course by this time she is also out in the water trying to rescue Zoe and the man.
All three come to shore safely and the 911 operator and I hang up....tragedy averted!!!
The man is soaking wet and his hands are bleeding. He says that's nothing he thinks his elbows are worse. He wouldn't let us do anything to help him or take him for a coffee to get warm or anything. I hope he is okay. I think he is.

His name is Bob.


BIGHILL'S SHOT OF PORT STANLEY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.