Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Learning to Knit

Today my grandchildren had a 'Snow Day'; their school was closed, but their parents had to go to work; this meant that I was able to spend the day with them. Both of them had to do three hours revision, not all in one hit, but throughout the day and could then do whatever they liked.

Victoria asked to learn to knit a while back; I had purchased some white dishcloth cotton and short needles ready for when the opportunity arose to teach her; today seemed like a good day.

As a child I was taught to knit by my mother and made dishcloths as presents for my aunts for Christmas. This is a skill I have never managed to pass onto my daughter, partly because she was never very interested in learning and partly because she is left-handed; her excuse, not mine. By the time I left this evening at 1800 hours, as you can see, Victoria had managed to knit quite a few rows and had progressed from pulling the wool too tight to a fairly decent tension.

Oliver took this picture of Victoria, (note the Judo top,) and me knitting; a rare picture of me and only because Oliver wanted me to blip it . My Aran waistcoat is almost finished and too big to carry to their house so I started knitting a red cowl from a lovely pattern given to me by a fellow blipper; thank you Dancingninja.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.