Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Too Pretty

"I can't drink Earl Grey in the morning; it's too pretty."
"Excuse me? Too what?"
"Too pretty. You have to think about it."

Thus I learned this morning from a quintessentially British friend that Lemon-Ginger tea is not tea at all.

Then I surmised she probably preferred a traditional English breakfast tea.
Yes, quite right.
Followed by my inquiry "Such as Earl Grey?"
No, not quite right.
Followed by the above explanation. Which left me most amused although slightly baffled, as well.

I might agree that I don't care to have to think too much in the morning (although I don't believe tea has ever required that of me!), but I do like pretty things - in the morning, as much as any time of the day.

And I was most appreciative of these lovely, very spring-looking flowers that adorned our breakfast table. A dramatic contrast to the bitter cold and snow I'd trudged through to meet my expat girlfriends for our monthly "girlie breakfast" - where we eat pretty food, share pretty (funny) stories, browse pretty things in the cafe's boutique, and indulge in the prettiest thing of all: friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.